5 things to know about your Facebook couples pageDoes your Facebook relationship status say you’re coupled-up, and did you tag your loved one in your “Basic Info” settings? If so, you’ve got a Facebook “couple” page, whether you know it or not.

Indeed, I was pretty surprised when I stumbled upon my own Facebook couple page, which you can take a gander at right here.

Want to see your own? Just visit “facebook.com/us” to check it out.

While the idea of automatically-generated “couples” pages may sound a little creepy, the good news is that you’re in control (more or less, anyway) over how your page looks, and you can decide which photos, links, “stories,” and other shared items are (or aren’t) included.

Here’s a few things you should know about your Facebook couple page, starting with…

1. A “couple” page is essentially a “friendship page” for you and your significant other

Ever heard of a Facebook “friendship” page? It’s essentially a single page showing everything you and one of your Facebook friends has ever shared together on Facebook.

Stories on Facebook couples page

Any photos, links, “likes,” or other content shared between you and your mate may appear on your Facebook couples page.

To see your friendship page with a particular friend, just go to a friend’s Facebook timeline, hover your mouse over the Friends button, then click “See Friendship” from the pop-up menu.

What you’ll see is a page that looks just like a standard Facebook timeline, complete with a “cover” photo and a combined profile image, a title that reads “You and [name of friend],” a list of your mutual friends, and a timeline of “stories” that involve both of you—such as, say, a link of yours that your friend “liked,” or a photo that you’re both tagged in.

So, what’s the difference between a “friendship” page and a “couples” page?

Well, almost nothing, save for one thing: if you’ve added the name of your sweetie to your Facebook relationship status, the “facebook.com/us” link acts as a shortcut to the friendship page between you and your better half.

2. Couples pages are (essentially) public…

There’s no easy way to view the couple or friendship pages of people who aren’t your Facebook friends, but that’s not to say it isn’t possible.

One way to view a friendship page of two of your Facebook friends is to visit any friendship page, click the More button just below the big “cover” photo, then enter their names into the “Browse Friendships” pop-up window.

But you can also see the couple and/or friendship pages of anyone on Facebook—even people who aren’t your friends—by plugging their Facebook usernames into the following URL:

http://www.facebook.com/[username1]?and=[username2]

For example, you can see the couples page for my wife and me at https://www.facebook.com/benpatt?and=susan.leopold—even if neither of us are friends with you on Facebook.

3. …but what’s actually on your couple page depends on your privacy settings

Just because your couple and friendship pages are essentially public doesn’t mean the world can spy on your shared photos, list of mutual friends, or other Facebook content that the two of you have shared.

Indeed, your Facebook couple page might look almost completely blank to non-friends, so long as you’ve been scrupulous about your privacy settings.

Speaking of which, now might be a good time to review how to lock down all your personal Facebook content and information.

Removing a story from a Facebook friendship page

You can delete any stories on your couples and/or relationship pages in just a few clicks.

4. You can’t delete your couple page…

Your Facebook couple and friendship pages aren’t optional. They’re there whether you like them or not—and no, there’s no “Delete” button.

5. …but you can edit your couple page

Just as you can curate your own timeline, you can highlight or delete individual “stories” from your couple/relationship page.

Hover your mouse over the top-right corner of a story and click the “star” button to turn it into a two-column highlight.

Want to nix a story? Click the “pencil” button next to the star, then click “Remove from this Friendship Page.”

Keep in mind, though, that deleting a story on your friendship page doesn’t delete it from Facebook altogether. To do so, you’ll need to delete or untag yourself from the original post.

Looking for more Facebook tips? Click here!

comments powered by Disqus
Subscribe now—it's free!

Subscribe now—it's free!

Get tech deals from here’s the thing delivered straight to your inbox.

Thanks! To confirm your subscription, please click the link we just sent to your mail inbox.