iOS 7 tip: Block data-hogging apps from using cellular dataSurprised that your iPhone or iPad is burning through your monthly data allowance so quickly? Streaming too many videos or songs via, say, Netflix or Pandora could be the culprit, but maybe there’s another iOS app that’s siphoning off your precious (and expensive) cellular data.

Well, good news: one of the handiest features in Apple’s just-released iOS 7 update for iPhone and iPad is a detailed list of which apps are using the most 3G or 4G mobile data.

Even better, you’ll get the option to close the cellular spigot on specific data-hogging apps.

Let’s give it a try…

  • Tap Settings, Cellular, then scroll down to the “Use Cellular Data for…” heading.
  • You should now see a list of installed apps that have recently been using cellular data, with the amount of data used listed just below the name. Unfortunately, the list is ordered alphabetically, not according to which apps are using the most data. (Take note, Apple.)
  • So, did you spot any apps that are using more than their fair share of data—as in, say, hundreds of megabytes (MB) or more, rather than just a few MB or less? If so, consider yanking the app’s cellular data privileges by flipping the green “On” switch next to the app’s name to the “Off” position.

Of course, keep in mind that a data-hogging iOS app that’s restricted from using 3G or 4G data won’t be able to access the Internet when you’re out of Wi-Fi range.

Bonus tip

Is your iPhone or iPad still using cellular data at a furious rate? If so, consider turning off mobile data usage for iTunes Match and Radio, as well as for iOS 7’s new auto-update feature for apps.

To do so, tap Settings, iTunes & App Store, then switch the Use Cellular Data setting to “Off.”

Still have more iOS 7 questions? Post ’em below, or send me an email.

comments powered by Disqus
Subscribe now!

Subscribe now!

Get the latest tech deals from here’s the thing delivered straight to your inbox.

Thanks! To confirm your subscription, please click the link we just sent to your mail inbox.